Q-NEXT scientists receive honors from the American Physical Society

Three scientists affiliated with Q-NEXT, a quantum research center led by the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Argonne National Laboratory, have received major awards from the American Physical Society (APS) this year for their contributions to computational physics and quantum physics.

Giulia Galli

Giulia Galli, University of Chicago Liew Family professor of molecular engineering and Argonne senior scientist, received the 2022 Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics for “the development of theoretical methods to compute and engineer the electronic and structural properties of molecules and materials, broadening the applicability of first-principles computational approaches to multiple disciplines, including nanoscience, and for many predictions subsequently confirmed experimentally.” The prize is given annually and recognizes outstanding achievement in computational physics research. It consists of a $10,000 award and a certificate citing Galli’s contributions. As part of the prize, Galli will deliver the Rahman Lecture at the upcoming APS annual meeting, to be held in Chicago.

Tony Heinz

Tony Heinz, professor of applied physics and photon science at Stanford University and associate laboratory director for energy sciences at DOE’s SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, received the Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science for “groundbreaking contributions to the development and application of laser spectroscopic techniques to probe surfaces, interfaces, and nanoscale materials.”This annual prize recognizes outstanding contributions to basic research using lasers to advance our knowledge of the fundamental physical properties of materials and their interaction with light. The prize consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing Heinz’s contributions, plus allowance for travel to the upcoming APS meeting.

Liang Jiang

Liang Jiang, University of Chicago professor of molecular engineering, received the 2022 Rolf Landauer and Charles H. Bennett Award in Quantum Computing. He is recognized for his “substantial contributions to the field of theoretical quantum information science, with emphasis on exploiting novel error correction strategies to enhance performance in a manner compatible with state-of-the-art experimental platforms, and for helping establish new foundations for fault-tolerant and practical quantum communication, computing, and sensing.” The award recognizes recent outstanding contributions in quantum information science, especially using quantum effects to perform computational and information-management tasks that would be impossible or infeasible by purely classical means. The award is given annually and consists of a $5,000 prize and a certificate citing Jiang’s contributions. Jiang will also give a lecture at the upcoming APS meeting.

News and features

See all news and features