Meet a PI with JoAnne Hewett – April 13

Joanne Hewett
JoAnne Hewett

Students and postdocs: Chat with Q-NEXT Deputy Director JoAnne Hewett on Wednesday, April 13, 2-3:15 p.m. ET / 1-2:15 p.m. CT / 12-1:15 p.m. MT / 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m. PT.

In this second installment of the Meet a PI series, students and postdocs will have the chance to talk with JoAnne in an informal setting and ask her about research, career advice, and anything else that’s on the mind of early-career researchers.

Hewett is the associate laboratory director for fundamental physics and chief research officer at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory. She is also a professor of particle physics and astrophysics at SLAC and Stanford University.

Email Leah Hesla at [email protected] with questions. A calendar invitation has been sent to Q-NEXT students and postdocs.

News and features

See all news and features
  • 'Get entangled' with Eric Chitambar

    At the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, theorist Eric Chitambar studies quantum communication. He is passionate about teaching and appreciates the strong collaborative spirit at UIUC, where his experimentalist colleagues help realize his group's ideas on hardware. Read More

  • Stanford scientists bring crystal clarity to diamond’s quantum signals

    In work supported by the Q-NEXT quantum center, a Stanford University group digs into diamond to find the source of its apparently temperamental nature when it comes to emitting quantum signals, widening a path for building quantum networks and sensors. Read More

  • Quantum-themed LabEscape escape room a hit at the Chicago Comic & Entertainment Expo

    The Q-NEXT quantum center brings the world’s only science-themed escape room to the Chicago Comic & Entertainment Expo, exposing hundreds of entertainment aficionados to the joys of science through puzzlement and play. Read More

  • UW–Madison scientists develop most sensitive way to observe single molecules

    From the University of Wisconsin–Madison: A research team at the University of Wisconsin–Madison led by Q-NEXT collaborator Randall Goldsmith has developed the most sensitive method yet for detecting and profiling a single molecule — unlocking a new tool that holds potential for better understanding how… Read More

  • Design rules and synthesis of quantum memory candidates

    From the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign: Researchers use density functional theory calculations to identify possible europium compounds to serve as a new quantum memory platform. They also synthesize one of the predicted compounds, a brand new, air-stable material that is a strong candidate for use… Read More