Four Q-NEXT scientists elected American Physical Society fellows

The American Physical Society (APS) Fellowship is an honor signifying recognition by one’s professional peers, awarded each year to less than one-half of 1% of APS members.

Each nominee is evaluated by the fellowship committee of the appropriate APS division, topical group or forum. After review by the APS fellowship committee, the successful candidates are elected by the APS Council.

This year, APS awarded fellowships to four scientists affiliated with Q-NEXT, a U.S. Department of Energy National Quantum Information Science Research Center:

Aashish Clerk

Aashish Clerk of Argonne National Laboratory and the University of Chicago was elected for fundamental contributions to the theory of quantum optomechanical systems, quantum dissipation engineering and other areas of quantum optics.

Liang Jiang
Liang Jiang

Liang Jiang of the University of Chicago was elected for innovative theoretical contributions opening new directions in quantum communication, computation and metrology.

Benjamin Lev

Benjamin Lev of Stanford University was elected for groundbreaking experiments on quantum gases of lanthanide atoms with large magnetic dipole moments, theoretically proposing and experimentally demonstrating multimode cavity QED for many-body physics, and the demonstration of novel scanning quantum gas imaging of quantum materials.

Monika Schleier-Smith

Monika Schleier-Smith of Stanford University was elected for pioneering experimental and theoretical contributions to quantum measurements and quantum simulation with ultracold atoms.

News and features

See all news and features